White Ribbon Warriors


Authentic Manhood

Posted in Christian Carnival,God Stuff,Manly Material by puremen on November 12, 2005

Was thinking about some scripture today as I was reading:

Judges 6:16 — The LORD answered, “I will be with you, and you will strike down all the Midianites together.”

I guess to say the least this is a generation of men lost in a cloud of confusion, and have pretty much been abandoned or failed by their earthly fathers. To tell you some honest truth, my father was an alcoholic that verbally abused me. I was constantly berated, belittled, cussed at, and lectured at and today it is wreaking havoc in my marriage, my relationships with other people, and in some ways my relationship with God.

But God says to me, and to all men, “Don’t aimlessly drift through life. Don’t give in to what the world’s definition of manhood is. Come to me, through Jesus Christ, and let me show you and lead you to what manhood is all about. Be an adopted son, and let me ‘re-father’ you..” (last sentence from Bill Hybels).

God’s answer to Gideon’s question in verse 15: “How can I save Israel, for I am the least of my family and my family is of the least tribe in Manasseh?” shows us that God wants to be personally and intimately involved with all of His children, no matter the circumstances. Scripture repeatedly brings up that desire that God has. God wants to provide all of the warmth, affection, discipline, accountability, and guidance that characterizes a good father-son relationship.

Alas, and even more so for those of us who have had bad “father-son” relationships, it’s not an overnight process nor is it something that happens “automagically” when we become saved. God doesn’t just reach down and give us some sort of transplant while we’re sleeping to fix it. It takes prayer, studying the Word, and listening for God’s voice. It demands that we listen for God’s guidance, and then act on that. Why does God want to do this ‘re-fathering’ process, bringing us to a place where we’re so sure of Him, His approval and guidance, and the promise of heaven?

God wants all of us to step beyond the world’s definition of manhood to a deeper level. He wants emasculated (or girly men…you know you use that phrase…) men to become secure enough to confront timidity, confront fear, take risks and make commitments. He wants all the tough, macho men out there to stop hiding behind false pretenses and masks, stop trying to impress people.

Bill Hybels says this: “The freedom of authentic masculinity is an amazing thing to see. It produces “divine elasticity” in men. Finally they can lead with firmness, yet submit with humility. They can challenge with a cutting edge, then encourage with enthusiasm. They can fight for just causes, then moments later weep over suffering.”

The world’s definition of manhood is way off base. God’s idea of real manhood, that “divinely elastic” man is who He had in mind when He created you and I. We see so many of the traits of the divinely elastic man in Jesus Christ…one who could speak with firmness, yet submit to His Father’s will; challenge the Pharisees in public settings with hard sayings yet encourage His disciples; clear the temple of moneychangers yet stand on a hill and weep over Jerusalem. It’s the man who lets God mold him to that “divinely elastic” man who is truely being molded into a masterpiece.

Leave a comment